freshly dyed, eco markings

A quick post before we drive to Monterey, on the pacific coast for the weekend.

prints from seeded Eucalyptus polyanthemus

Eucalyptus polyanthemos, or silver dollar gum

I found this weed growing in our backyard, creeping on my citrus and tomato plants. It has small white trumpet flowers growing on thin stems. I checked my garden books, and found the name of it. Field bindweed or convolvulus arvensis is a species in the morning glory family. An idea come to mind, what if it prints? The pictures below are results from this experiment.

bindweed with white trumpet flowers creeping on dried grass

into the dye pot it went!

L-R: sample results from silk and wool

And finally, here’s an eco teaser for next time….have a lovely summer.

Exbucklandia leaf print

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dye happiest.”

This entry was posted in eco printing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to freshly dyed, eco markings

  1. kitzkamp says:

    Have you tried just eco-printing the leaves? I’ll have to start saving this stuff when I pull it!

    Like

    • mltai says:

      Kit, thanks for dropping by. I didn’t eco-print the leaves, just for dye-bath. I don’t think it will print well as the leaf feels thin without any texture (just my assumption, I might be wrong)

      Like

  2. Daniella Amit says:

    Carmel…One of my favorite places, and my daughter’s name as well. I myself was born on Mount Carmel 🙂 Love your work Have a great weekend. Daniella

    C s

    Like

    • mltai says:

      I simply adore this quaint and charming town. This week happens to be the Rolex Monterey Motorsport Reunion, so the entire town is filled with classic and high end cars. Thanks for dropping by, Carmel. :):)

      Like

Leave a Reply

