redbud tree

redbud flowers and leaves are edible

This shrub reminds me of basket weaving. Several years ago, I took a class in Pomo Indian basket weaving at a local recreational park. For materials, the ranger took us to the fields to gather sedge roots and redbud stems. The plant materials are cleaned, and then split into many thin strips before weaving into a basket. I wish I could find the basket that I made, so I could share it here in this post. Here, are pictures of prints made from the seed pod and leaves of the redbud tree.

seed pod and leaves

seed pod and leaves on white raw silk mordant in alum

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dye happiest”.

This entry was posted in dyeing, eco printing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to redbud tree

  1. The redbud tree in my yard is in full flower right now…… it’s so lovely!
    I’ve used the leaves and seed pods too, to great success. Tried some of the flowers in my last eco print, but got nothing from them. Have you tried them?
    But now you have given me ideas for basket weaving! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

