a tisket, a tasket, what’s in my basket

With luck, I spotted this gigantic of an Australian pine tree by the roadside near a small stream. The tree has thin and wispy branches and leaves that are no more than scales on the surface. It is commonly known as ironwood or Casuarina and are widely planted as windbreaks. It was quite a sight to see its sweeping branches hanging down to the ground of pine needles. I gathered a basketful of pine needles to use as mulch for my blueberry bush, and some for contact printing.
I always love plants and since I’ve learned about eco printing–I am forever scouting for interesting plants. It is inspiring and I love to share this botanical madness of mine with you. Below are the results, (mouse over the picture and click for a larger image).

wispy pine needles

printed on alum mordant cream silk jersey

combination of castor bean and pine on a white knit fabric of mix blend (not sure what)

center fold with delicate lines of pine and greenish color from castor bean

close up of castor bean overlapped with pine

close up of side fold with more castor bean and pine

castor bean and stem, notice the mix streaks of color from stem

close up of stem–I love this one

To sum it up, a nursery rhyme……
A tisket, a tasket
A green and yellow basket
I wrote a letter to my love
And on the way I dropped it
I dropped it, I dropped it
A little boy picked it up and put it in his pocket.

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dye happiest”.

This entry was posted in dyeing, eco printing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

