flowering eucalyptus

isn’t this gorgeous?

On my way to the post office the other day, I spotted this eucalyptus with its spectacular cluster of red flowers and gumnuts. The tree has a smooth bark with broad lanceolate leaves on reddish-brown twigs. It looks majestic this time of the year. I was surprised that I didn’t notice this tree before.

Eucalyptus leucoxylon is a medium size tree that flowers profusely in winter (now, I know why). Depending on the different species and varietal, there are some trees that bear white or pink flowers. I picked a few branches home to surface print on wool fabric. The result was amazing and I am happy to share!

twigs are smooth and reddish-brown.

clusters of mature seed pods or gumnuts

front view of prints

close view of dark prints from rust & eucalyptus

front view, I love this one!

back view, tied markings from combination of rust and eucalyptus barks in dyebath.

closer view of tied sttrings markings

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dye happiest”.

This entry was posted in dyeing, eco printing, rust dyeing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to flowering eucalyptus

  1. Hi Melinda, your prints look great. I’m trying to do some felted scarves and wraps to get ready for a bit milder weather and more dyeing.

    Like

  2. kristin says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Now if only I could reach the leaves on the Eucalypts in my neighborhood.

    Like

  3. betty says:

    Beautiful tree and prints!

    Like

  4. Nicola says:

    Lovely, how I wish I had access to this variety of eucalyptus, so spectacular looking flowers and lovely prints!

    Like

Leave a Reply

