weekly bundle: eucalyptus cinerea

bold prints with iron spoon

I found this long machined knitted fringed scarf at a thrift store in San Rafael for $3 dollars. I can’t tell if the scarf has any wool content in the fiber; the lady at the store told me that it’s acrylic, as it was one of her donation. Acrylic is a synthetic material that doesn’t work well with natural dyes. Nevertheless, I am going to take this challenge to dye it with natural dye.

more bolder prints

Before we headed home, John and I had lunch at Sol Food, a Puerto Rican restaurant. This place was jam-packed with people standing in line on the sidewalk. We were lucky to get a table by the window facing the street. Our meal arrived quickly and the servers are prompt and friendly. I had the vegetarian dish, John had the chuletas fritas. We finished our meal with tembleque, a coconut custard with mango sauce. Some photos to whet your appetite!

rice served with stewed black beans, avocado, fried plantains

Tembleque-coconut custard with mango sauce

Now, piggy back to the scarf.  First I washed it twice with washing soda, and then pre-mordant it with alum. I bundled it up with eucalyptus cinerea (or silver dollar), and some onion skins and boiled it for an over an hour. I left it out overnight in the pot. The next morning, I unwrapped it and much to my surprise, the results was just fantastic! I am not sure it was lady luck’s or perhaps the scarf has a small amount of wool content to uptake the colors.

eucalyptus cinerea

antsy fingers on petals

spots of sage green from onion skins, a reaction from iron

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dine happier, dye happiest”.

This entry was posted in eco printing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

