weekly bundle: eco-prints on paper

Liquidambar styraciflua, or sweet-gum, and fennel frond

I have been reading quite a bit about eco printing on paper and was fascinated by the process. I used a 90 lb weight cold pressed water color paper. I tore each piece of paper into quarters, and pre-soaked it in alum for about 15 minutes to soften. While the paper is soaking, I collected windfall leaves and flowers for the bundle.

bundle ready to be secured with strings

Next, I arranged the leaves and flowers, layering a sheet of paper on top of another and then put the thick layers of paper and botanical in between two pieces of ceramic tiles (thick cardboard will work too). I secured the pile with strings and steamed the bundle over boiling water for about 15 minutes, then simmered for about an hour, making sure the water doesn’t run low.  I took out the bundle and let it sit overnight.

fennel frond

I was excited when I untied the bundle to unveil its results the next morning.  I am pleased to see markings of the plant materials were nicely printed on some of the paper. That’s really the joy and fun of this process.

Sarracenia, or pitcher plant and fennel frond

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dye happiest”.

This entry was posted in eco print on paper, eco printing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

