revamp old to new naturally: slip lingerie

pink mophead hydrangea

bloom with eucalyptus

front view

spot of blues from bloom

I was removing some of the spent blooms of my pink hydrangeas and a thought came to mind. I was curious to know if this lovely pink color would be a good eco-print plant material for this project.

I gathered enough of the blooms, and pre-soaked them in alum water, while I go find something appropriate to use.  I found an older lingerie, the fabric is soft and has a light sheen to it. I am not sure, but I think the fabric is Charmeuse, which is a lightweight fabric woven with a satin weave.

I arranged the plant materials (hydrangeas, oak leaf hydrangea, eucalyptus willow) on top, bundled it up and steamed for about 2 hours. The next day, I got up early and opened the bundle. I was pleased with the results!

I didn’t get pink from the hydrangeas, just spots of blue, an array of light golds to yellows from the oak leaves, and ochre from eucalyptus. It turned out beautifully and I shall enjoy wearing it!

R: oak leaf hydrangea, L: eucalyptus willow

eucalyptus willow–my favorite botanical

back view

*Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melinda Tai and Obovate Designs with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Thank you for visiting, I welcome all your comments.

“A smile is worth a thousand words, live happy, dye happiest”.

This entry was posted in dyeing, eco printing, repurpose clothing, wearable art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

